It is with great excitement that we announce the judging panel for the 6th INTERNATIONAL GREEN AWARDS™ for Creativity in Sustainability.


The judging panel is composed of carefully chosen professionals, renowned in the communications, environmental and sustainability fields. They represent government, business and third sector initiatives aimed at promoting sustainability in the global arena


Confirmed judges for this year include;

  • Nick Nuttall – Acting Communications Director and Spokesperson; UNEP KENYA (Chair of the 2011 Judging Panel)
  • Ahmed Djoghlaf – Executive Secretary; UN Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) CANADA
  • Arianna Huffington – President & Editor-in-Chief; AOL Huffington Post Media Group USA
  • David de Rothschild, Environmentalist & Explorer & ‘Plastiki’ Expedition Leader USA
  • Bonnie Nixon – Executive Director, Sustainability Consortium USA
  • Richard Guy – Senior Strategy & Operations Manager, Innovation, Carbon Trust UK
  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Kemfert – Head of the Department of Energy, Transportation, Environment; German Institute of           Economic Research (DIW Berlin) GERMANY
  • Richard Reynolds – Manager, Supply Chain; Masdar City UAE
  • Daryl Arnold – CEO, Newton Circus; SINGAPORE
  • David Mason – Communications Director, Forum for the Future; UK
  • Dr. Malcolm McIntosh FRSA – Professor of Sustainable Enterprise; Griffith University, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
  • Julia Marton-Lefevre – Director General; IUCN SWITZERLAND
  • Lance Hosey – President & CEO; GreenBlue USA
  • Marina Silva – Environmentalist & Politician; Green Party BRAZIL
  • Adam Koniuszewski – Chief Operating Officer; Green Cross International SWITZERLAND
  • Professor Jacqueline McGlade – Executive Director; European Environment Agency DENMARK
  • Vicki Buck – Former Mayor of Christchurch, NEW ZEALAND
  • Aniol Esteban – Head of Environmental Economics; New Economics Foundation (nef) UNITED KINGDOM
  • Baroness Barbara Young – Chancellor; Cranfield University UNITED KINGDOM
  • Brendan May – UK Chairman; Rainforest Alliance UNITED KINGDOM
  • Cheryl Campbell – Executive Director; tve UNITED KINGDOM
  • Sir Crispin Tickell – Director, Policy Foresight Programme; Oxford University UNITED KINGDOM
  • Gabrielle Lovering – Head of Design; BBC Worldwide UNITED KINGDOM
  • Jane Davidson – Minister of Environment & Sustainability; Wales UNITED KINGDOM
  • Jilly Forster – CEO; Forster UNITED KINGDOM
  • Leonora Oppenheim – Designer and Writer/ Journalist; Treehugger UNITED KINGDOM
  • Liu Jianqiang – Journalist and Environmentalist; CHINA
  • Mark Lynas – Environmental Author & Commentator UNITED KINGDOM
  • Malini Mehra – Founder and CEO, Centre for Social Markets INDIA
  • Michael Gidney – Deputy Executive Director; Fairtrade Foundation UNITED KINGDOM
  • Peter Head – Director; ARUP UNITED KINGDOM
  • Peter Paul van de Wijs - Managing Director, Communications & Business Role Focus Area, World Business Council     for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) SWITZERLAND
  • Rick Stathers – Head of Responsible Investment; Schroders UNITED KINGDOM
  • Rosie Boycott – Chair of London Food; Mayor of London/ GLA UNITED KINGDOM
  • Steven Gray – Vice President Carbon Finance; Climate Change Capital UNITED KINGDOM
  • Tim Smit – Chief Executive & Co-Founder; Eden Project UNITED KINGDOM



Please note that this is not an exhaustive list of 2011 judges.