Winners for Green Awards 2010 Announced

The Natural History MuseumThe 2010 Green Awards announce China Environmental Protection Foundation in association with DDB China Group as the winner of this year’s Grand Prix.
The 5th GREEN AWARDS culminated last night with a glittering, ‘green carpet’ event at the iconic Natural History Museum. BBC Radio 2 Radio Presenter Janey Lee Grace and designer Wayne Hemingway MBE hosted the ceremony and announced winners for all 16 categories and the 2010 Grand Prix. The Awards also honoured Sir David Attenborough with the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award, for his commitment towards the cause of biodiversity presented by Sir Paul Judge President of the Chartered Institute of Marketing. Aside from the inspiration that is Sir David Attenborough, the night’s speakers gave an enlightening insight to an audience of sustainability, marketing and media professionals.
The Rt Hon Chris Huhne Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change from DECC (Department of Energy & Climate Change) was the first to give a rousing speech on the eve of his visit to Cancun recognising that the challenges presented by climate change were no longer just the remit of governments but businesses had a joint role to play in finding inspiring solutions.
This year, the GREEN AWARDS took a giant leap by inviting worldwide participation in all 16 categories. Entries were received from most parts of the globe, including China, India, Romania, United States, Denmark, Australia, South Korea and Sweden amongst others. In fact, after Great Britain, Romania and North America sent the maximum number of entries to the Green Awards 2010. The quality of work submitted made the judges’ task of choosing winners quite difficult. It was not only the high standard of the entries, but also the cultural and social variances between countries. The judging criterion was based on the pillars of creativity, sustainability and effectiveness.
Another first this year was the introduction of a mobile platform to facilitate public voting for the ‘Best Green Use of Mobile Apps and Applications’ category. The platform registered more than 500 votes in 3 days! The platform helped create the category shortlist, and then the judging panel selected a winner from their shortlist.
In the end, Landshare by River Cottage, won the category. Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall recorded a video message which was played voicing his excitement at winning an award.
Other notable international winners, in different categories, include the International Advertising Association from The US, the Convention of Biological Diversity based in Canada and Toyota Sweden AB. The UK also scooped up some prestigious Awards, such as Morrison’s for the Best Green Educational Campaign and Scottish Government’s popular ‘Greener Travel and Transport’ in the Best Green Moving Image category.
The GREEN AWARDS Grand Prix is the overall winner of the event which is judged the best amongst all the entries. This Award is for a campaign which, in the opinion of the expert judging panel, best exemplified an outstanding environmental message, and had the greatest capacity to raise awareness. This prestigious Award went to China Environmental Protection Foundation, by virtue of an innovative and effective outdoor campaign created by DDB China, urging people to walk more and drive less.
This campaign targeted young people who chose to drive over walking. The campaign involved the creation of an outdoor poster advertisement on pedestrian crossings across 7 thoroughfares in Shanghai. The emergence of China as a major automobile market made it essential to create a dynamic campaign to encourage walking over driving.
Judges were impressed by the creativity exhibited by the campaign and the simple and effective use of local knowledge. Moreover, the results of the campaign sealed the judges’ decision to be unanimous and resounding. The campaign reached 3.92 million people and increased general public awareness about environmental awareness by 86%.
For further details see with examples of the work that won and the full list of winners.

Leave a Reply